My first draft batch of storyboard for animated comedy Life After Pride

Used as a tool for visual-storytelling (and organizing), storyboards work as a visual outline of how a story will unfold. With the digital age upon us, more and more storyboard artists are using tools such as digital software or iPads to draw, vectorize and color their sketches!

I’ve listed some PROS & CONS of what I’ve experienced so far as a storyboard artist for Limit Break Studio

 Traditional Storyboarding (Good Ol’ Pen & Paper)

Artist:  Joonmarie Roca-Brush
For Limit Break Studiosanimated comedy “Life After Pride”

PROS:

1) Artistically expressive

-Use of gestures and strokes can impress personality on my sketches, and shows off talent (I have my moments, but there are plenty of sketches I wasn’t so satisfied with)

2) Instant hard copy

-I have a neat little portfolio of my sketches, protected by clear page sleeves, for easy viewing (portable and practical)

3) Cheaper

-All you need is pen/pencil and paper

4) Customizable

-Doodle whatever you want, whenever you want (without affecting other people’s work flow)

Artist: Joonmarie Roca-Brush
For Limit Break Studio’s animated comedy Life After Pide

CONS:

1)      Time consuming                                                    

-The 62 pages took me between 14-16 hours

2)      Need to make digital copy

-Unless you’re using one of those scanning pens, I had to scan all the pages in order to save it digitally

3)      Expensive to print

-I needed to print the storyboard multiple times for my boss, the animators and set design. You do the math: 62x (?)= low on ink

4)      Physically tiring

-Your hands cramp after a while

5)      Hard to edit

-I had to re-draw the whole storyboard at one point, because the script changed

6)      Inconsistencies

-Circumstantial: I found it hard to stay consistent with my drawing style. I was going back and forth from live drawing to cartoon drawing so my characters can look different from one scene to the next

DIGITAL STORYBOARDING (Computer & Software)

Digital Concept Artist(s): Phil Young & Jennifer Pastecchi
Storyboard: Joonmarie Roca-Brush

PROS:

1)  Don’t need to draw by hand

-Circumstancial: I am not a concept artist, so I don’t vectorize any characters. Since the characters are given to me completed, I do not have to draw a thing (but that may not be the case if you have to do the vertorizing yourselves)

2) Exact replicas

-The characters will look exactly the same from one scene to another since I’m using the same character piece over and over—once you have the achieve of characters

3)  Digital

-Need I say more (easier transport, colorful, less human error…etc.)

4)  Easy to edit

-Permitting that I already have all the proper characters and their backgrounds, if I need to edit the camera angles, I can easily do so (if it’s saves as a “.png”, “.ai” or
“.psp” file)

Concept Artist(s): Jennifer Pastecchi, Eimi Pinero-Sing, Jarrod Gececk, Christopher Carrigy, & Phil Young
Storyboarding, Background Photo & Compositing: Joonmarie Roca-Brush

CONS:

1)   Expensive software

-IF you don’t have a precision editor that allows compositing/layering and masking

2)   Expensive printing

-I still have no idea how I’m going to print 62 (or more) pages of solid vibrant colors !?

3)   Longer wait for character re-edit

-Although I can easily edit the camera angles, if the script changes and it requires a change in the background or characters, I need to wait for the concept artist to finish, before I can re-start

Conclusion:

Ultimately, if you are a software-person, digital storyboarding may be more appealing and more efficient to utilize. However, if you like having hard copies of your work and pride your  talent to draw (but aren’t tech-savy), perhaps traditional storyboarding is best. Depending on what’s demanded of you, you may even have to do both!

***DISCLAIMER: Life After Pride and it’s characters are owned by Daniel LaRussa, and produced by Limit Break Studio. For more information on this animated comedy, follow & like on FacebookYoutube or visit http://www.limitbreakstudio.com

About Joonmarie Roca-Brush

*Visit Foreignfilmfan.wordpress.com to share your love for foreign films *Visit Jooniverse.wordpress.com for my ePorfolio

Leave a Reply

